28th May 2019

Betfred League 1 – 25 May 2019

Whitehaven 32 London Skolars 6

The game between the two sides at the top of the league went the say of Whitehaven, despite Skolars leading for most of the first half.

There were no early signs of the effects of the eight hour journey to the Cumbrian coast when Skolars took the lead in the seventh minute. Coach Jermaime Coleman played for the first time this season and it was his kick though the Whitehaven defence that Liam Scott ran onto to touchdown under the posts, with Neil Thorman adding the conversion.

Whitehaven put pressure on at the other end, but Marc Shackley lost the ball in a tackle on the tryline. The home side twice failed to find the touchline with their penalty kicks, giving Skolars opportunity to attack into Haven’s half, with some strong runs from Lamont Bryan and Rob Tuliatu. A deep kick from Jy-Mel Coleman returning for a fourth spell at the club, saw Iliess Macani race down the wing forcing the home side to concede a goal-line drop-out. 

Skolars looked like they might keep the lead into half-time, but an error deep in their own half, when they thought they were playing advantage after Haven lost the ball, saw have to defend after a goal-line drop-out of their own and Papua New Guinean international Dion Aiye dived through the defence to score, with Liam Moore’s conversion levelling the scores at 6 all.

The Cumbrians also had a returning ex-player, Carl Foster making a comeback after a short spell at Rochdale and he made a big impact off the bench, putting his side into the lead when he went over on the right flank. Moore kicked the conversion and added a penalty four minutes later.

Skolars had a chance to narrow the gap, but Ronnie Palumbo lost the ball after a good move to the left. Whitehaven made certain of the win with two tries in four minutes. First James Newton spotted a gap in the Skolars’ left, then Aiye capitalised on a Skolars’ error for his second try of the evening.

A brawl four minutes from the end saw Skolars’ Robert Tuliatu and Haven’s Kris Coward sin-binned and, with Skolars starting to tire, Brett Phillips added another try for the home side.


 3 Chris Taylor

 2 Jordan Burns

23 Jason Mossop

15 Connor Holliday

19 Andrew Bulman

 1 Sam Forrester

 7Callum Phillips

  8 Marc Shackley

14 Sam Dowsett

10 Kris Coward

12 Jake Moore

11 Brett Phillips

13 Tom Wilkinson

Subs (all used)

 6 Dion Aiye

 –  Carl Forster

 9 James Newton

18 Jordan Thomson

Tries: Aiye (39,71), Forster (51), Newton (67), Brett Phillips (78(

Goals: Moore 6/6

Sin-Bin: Coward (76) – fighting


14 Richard Wilkinson

 2 Iliess Macani

16 Rinaldo Palumbo

  3 Craig Mullen

  5 Elliot Jennings

 6 James Barran

 7 Jermaine Coleman

19 Will Martin

 9 Neil Thorman

21 Liam Scott

11 Jordan Williams

20 Lamont Bryan

13 Robert Tuliatu

Subs (all used)

17 Jy-Mel Coleman

15 Malikhi Lloyd-Jones

16 Jon Magrin

22 Matt Ross

Tries: Scott (7)

Goals: Thorman 1/1

Sin-bin: Tuliatu (76)- fighting

Penalty count: 9-4

Half-time: 6-6

Referee: Johm McMullen

SCORING SEQUENCE: 0-6, 6-6, 6-12, 12-6, 14-6, 20-6, 26-26, 32-6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping cart 0 Items

Club Shop

APX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online StoreAPX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online Store

Match Tickets

CLICK below for ticketsCLICK below for tickets

Play mini and junior rugby for Skolars

Call: 020 8888 8488 | Email:
Ages 7-17


Be part of London, be part of London Skolars