Skolars Awards Night Highlights

17th October 2013

London Skolars players, coaches, directors, staff and supporters gathered in a City of London venue last night to celebrate what was a memorable 2013 season for the club.

General Manager Howard Kramer thanked those attending, and event sponsors Laurent Perrier Champagne, for their outstanding support in a season that just fell short of a place in the Grand Final. Commenting on the evening Kramer had this to say: “Tonight shows that our fan base is growing, with a good number of supporters taking time to come into the City on a Wednesday evening to show their appreciation for what the team have achieved this year. I’m hopeful that numbers will increase in 2014 as the team continue to grow under Joe Mbu and play the type of Rugby League that fans appreciate.”

Skolars Chairman Terry Browne was on hand to present the awards to the recipients and head Coach Joe Mbu thanked each and every one of his squad for their contribution to the cause.

The first award of the evening was for Young Player of the year and this went to Martyn Smith, a player who has gone from strength to strength over the past two seasons with the club.

Next up was Forward of the year, which went to Captain Dave Williams. Joe Mbu explained why this player’s outstanding, consistent contribution had won him the award. Everyone at the club is delighted that Dave has put pen to paper on a new playing contract at the club.

The Coach’s player of the year award went to long serving John Paxton, a player who Joe Mbu explained was prepared to play in any position to help the team’s cause. John had an outstanding season and was a model of consistency throughout the campaign. John can be seen above receiving his award from Skolars chairman Terry Browne and head coach Joe Mbu.

Back of the year went to record breaking Dylan Skee. Although Dylan broke his ankle in the penultimate game of the season he still started more games for the club than any other player in 2013. In addition Dylan broke the club’s all time scoring record and finished the season as Championship 1 top points scorer. An outstanding effort from a player who will be sorely missed when he returns to his native Australia.

The last award of the evening was the Players Player of the year and this went to James Anthony. James had another outstanding season at full back and equalled the club’s season try record with 20 tries in 2013. James was unable to attend the evening and his award was accepted by Chairman Terry Browne.

As well as their trophies all award winners were also presented with a bottle of champagne from sponsors Laurent Perrier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping cart 0 Items

Club Shop

APX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online StoreAPX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online Store

Match Tickets

CLICK below for ticketsCLICK below for tickets

Play mini and junior rugby for Skolars

Call: 020 8888 8488 | Email:
Ages 7-17


Be part of London, be part of London Skolars