Joe Mbu and Dylan Skee feature in Kingstone Press Championship Awards Nominees

12th September 2013

The nominations for the 2013 Kingstone Press Championships awards have been confirmed today.

In the Kingstone Press Championship, newcomers for the 2013 season Doncaster could be set to seal an impressive double. Just 12 months after lifting the Coach of the Year and Player of the Year awards in Championship One, Doncaster coach Tony Miller and playmaker Paul Cooke have been shortlisted for the Championship Coach of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively.

Cooke is joined by Sheffield Eagles prop Mitchell Stringer and Aaron Brown of Dewsbury Rams in the running for the coveted individual award while Mark Aston of Sheffield Eagles and Paul Rowley of Leigh Centurions join Miller in the Coach of the Year shortlist.

The Championship Young Player of the Year will be chosen from a shortlist of four, with little to separate Dewsbury’s Aaron Brown, Ryan Brierley of Leigh, York City Knights player Tom Carr and Doncaster’s Liam Kay.

In Kingstone Press Championship One, North Wales Crusaders coach Clive Griffith has been shortlisted for Coach of the Year alongside London Skolars coach Joe Mbu and Troy Perkins of Hemel Stags.

The Player of the Year award in Championship One sees Crusaders duo Andy Moulsdale and Jono Smith shortlisted alongside Dylan Skee of London Skolars.

A five-player shortlist makes up the runners for the Championship One Young Player of the Year award, with Oldham’s Adam Files and Richard Lepori joined by Tyla Hepi of Gloucestershire All Golds, Luke Hardcastle of Gateshead Thunder and North Wales’s Tommy Johnson.

The 2013 Kingstone Press Championship Awards shortlists in full are as follows:
Championship Player of the Year: Aaron Brown (Dewsbury) Paul Cooke (Doncaster) Mitchell Stringer (Sheffield)
Championship Young Player of the Year: Aaron Brown (Dewsbury) Ryan Brierley (Leigh) Tom Carr (York) Liam Kay (Doncaster)
Championship Coach of the Year: Mark Aston (Sheffield) Tony Miller (Doncaster) Paul Rowley (Leigh)
Championship One Player of the Year: Any Moulsdale (NW Crusaders) Jono Smith (NW Crusaders) Dylan Skee (London)
Championship One Young Player of the Year: Adam Files (Oldham) Tyla Hepi (All Golds) Luke Hardcastle (Gateshead) Tommy Johnson (NW Crusaders) Richard Lepori (Oldham)
Championship One Coach of the Year: Clive Griffiths (NW Crusaders) Joe Mbu (London) Troy Perkins (Hemel Stags)

The winners will be announced at the 2013 Kingstone Press Championship Awards night in Leeds on Thursday September 26

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping cart 0 Items



Club Shop

London Skolars 2022 Replica KitLondon Skolars 2022 Replica Kit

Match Tickets

CLICK below for ticketsCLICK below for tickets

Play mini and junior rugby for Skolars

Call: 020 8888 8488 | Email:
Ages 7-17


Be part of London, be part of London Skolars