North Wales Crusaders 40 London Skolars 22

13th August 2012

Skolars’ play-off hopes took a dent with a defeat at Wrexham and they now face two difficult final games if they are to finish in the top six.

An early error by Lamont Bryan saw Crusaders gain possession close to Skolars’ line. Crusaders then passed the ball across the line with Christiaan Roets spinning over the line to ground the ball despite the efforts of the defence. Skolars bounced back when they fired the ball across the pitch from a scrum to Joe Price who found an overlap and raced 80 metres to touchdown. After breaks by Lamont Bryan and Neil Thorman, Dylan Skee passed inside for James Anthony to score, Skee missed the conversion but Skolars were leading 6-10.

The lead changed hands again when Jonny Walker pushed his way over after Skolars had conceded two penalties in quick succession. North Wales pushed 18-10 ahead at the break after Rob Massam powered his way through the defence taking the ball up from a drop out.

The margin was narrowed early in the second half through Lamont Bryan after a good run by Austen Aggrey. Martyn Smith broke through for Anthony to score his second try, Skee kicking his third conversion. However, Lenys Weaver ran onto a Jono Smith pass when and Andy Mousdale ran through a wide gap in thev defence, the Welsh were six points ahead.

Skolars looked to level the scores but the Crusaders’ defence held out and when Smith barged over it looked like they might have to settle for a bonus point. But that was denied when Adam Clay pounced on a dropped ball on half way to race in under the posts, Tommy Johnson kicking his sixth conversion as the final hooter sounded.

Dylan Skee’s second conversion saw him beat Paul Thorman’s club record for goals in a season (79 in 2008).



1 Tommy Johnson

2 Adam Clay

3 Christiaan Roets

4 Leon Brennan

5 Rob Massam

6 Andy Moulsdale

7 Billy Sheen

8 Jonny Walker

9 Dave McConnell

10 Simon Stephens

11 Andy Gorski

12 Liam Hulme

13 Jono Smith


Subs (all used)

14 Owain Brown

15 Lee Hudson

16 Anthony Morrison

17 Lenys Weaver


Tries: Roets (2), Walker (22), Massam (33), Weaver (54), Mousdale (65), Smith (73), Clay (79)

Goals: Johnson 6/7



1 James Anthony

2 John Paxton

3 Joe Price

4 Matt Thomas

5 Dave Arnot

6 Andy McLean

7 Dylan Skee

8 Rob Thomas

9 Neil Thorman

10 Olly Purslow

11 Brad Hopkins

12 James Roche

13 Lamont Bryan


Subs (all used)

14 Austen Aggrey

15 Michael Sykes

16 Alex Bate

17 Martyn Smith


Tries: Price (5), Anthony (12,51), Bryan (47)

Goals: Skee 3/4


Penalty count: 8-2


Half-time: 18-10

Referee: Gareth Hewer


ORING SEQUENCE: 6-0, 6-4, 6-10, 12-10, 18-10, 18-16, 18-22, 24-22, 28-22, 34-22, 40-22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping cart 0 Items

Club Shop

APX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online StoreAPX-Performance are proud partners of London Skolars Rugby League’s Official Online Store

Match Tickets

CLICK below for ticketsCLICK below for tickets

Play mini and junior rugby for Skolars

Call: 020 8888 8488 | Email:
Ages 7-17


Be part of London, be part of London Skolars